Faculty

Faculty directly active in the academic administration of the program:

Professor Darrell J. Irvine | Lab Website
PPST Program Director
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-4174, djirvine@mit.edu
Biomaterials surfaces, Tissue engineering/complex materials, Polymer-biopolymer nanosystems, Bioengineering of the immune system

Professor Alfredo Alexander-Katz | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-2238, aalexand@mit.edu
Polymer physics, drug-delivery, self-assembly, adhesion, driven systems

Professor Daniel Blankschtein | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4594, dblank@mit.edu
Statistical mechanics, thermodynamics and physical chemistry of complex fluids and micellar solutions

Professor Robert E. Cohen | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3777, recohen@mit.edu
Physics and chemistry of polymers; polymer surfaces/interfaces; Structure-property relationships

Professor Patrick S. Doyle | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4534, pdoyle@mit.edu
Microrheology, Biophysics, Microfluidics Separations, Polymer Physics, Transport Phenomena

Professor Karen K. Gleason | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-5066, kkg@mit.edu
Chemical Vapor Deposition, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

Professor Linda G. Griffith | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-0013, griff@mit.edu
Biomedical and Biochemical Engineering

Professor Paula T. Hammond | Video Profile | Lab Website

DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 258-7577, hammond@mit.edu
Macromolecular Design and Synthesis, Functionalized Polymers, Optical Properties of Polymers, Liquid Crystalline Polymeric Materials

Prof. Niels Holten-Andersen Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
(617) 324-5027, holten@mit.edu
Biomaterials, Bio-inspired materials design, Metal-coordination, Polymers, Soft-condensed matter,
Physical-chemistry of dynamic interfaces

Professor Jeremiah A. Johnson Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-1819, jaj2109@mit.edu
Drug-delivery, Hydrogels, Biopolymers, Nanoparticles, Semiconducting polymers, Organometallic polymers, Photoactive polymers

Professor Gareth McKinley | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 258-0754, gareth@mit.edu
Non-Newtonian fluid dynamics, polymer processing, viscoelasticity, flow stability, extensional rheology & filament stretching

Professor Bradley D. Olsen | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 715-4548, bdolsen@mit.edu
Block copolymers, Soft condensed matter physics, Protein-based materials, Bioelectronics

Professor Christine Ortiz | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-3084, cortiz@mit.edu
Macromolecular systems, nanomechanics, structure-property relationships, biomimetic materials design

Professor Katharina Ribbeck Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 715-4575, ribbeck@mit.edu
Physiological transport, mucus barriers, biofilms, pathogen/host interactions

Professor Michael F. Rubner Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4477, rubner@mit.edu
Polymers with Novel Electrical, optical, and magnetic properties; self-assembled monolayers

Professor Gregory C. Rutledge Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-0171, rutledge@mit.edu
Polymer Physics, Thermodynamics of bulk polymers molecular modeling

Professor Hadley D. Sikes Lab Website  
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-5224, sikes@mit.edu
Functional polymeric materials, Macromolecular design, Clinical diagnostics

Professor Timothy Swager | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-4423, tswager@mit.edu
Synthesis and characterization of electronically and optically active polymers and polymer sensory materials

Professor Krystyn J. Van Vliet | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3315, krystyn@mit.edu
Mechanically coupled material systems, mechanical properties of nanoscale polymer films, chemomechanical coupling in living cells

Professor Ioannis Yannas

DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING/DMSE
(617) 253-4469, yannas@mit.edu
Biodegradable polymeric templates for organ regeneration; design and clinical testing of artificial skin


PPST FACULTY AFFILIATES
faculty associated with the program:

Professor Robert C. Armstrong
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4581, rca@mit.edu
Polymers fluid mechanics, rheology, polymer processing, kinetic theory and rheology, applied mathematics

Professor George B. Benedek
DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS
(617) 253-4828, gbb@mit.edu
Self-association and phase transitions in solutions of biological and synthetic macromolecules

Professor Robert S. Langer

DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3107, rlanger@mit.edu
Polymeric, controlled drug delivery systems

Professor Keith A. Nelson
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-1423, kanelson@mit.edu
Femtosecond-millisecond time resolved spectroscopy of polymers and other viscoelastic media

Professor ChoKyun Rha
BIOMATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING LABORATORY
(617) 253-3493, ckrha@mit.edu
Rheology of Biopolymers; structure-property-function relationship in biopolymers

Professor David K. Roylance
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3309, roylance@mit.edu
Physics and mechanics of polymer deformation and fracture; environmental resistance of polymers

Professor Richard R. Schrock
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-1596, rrs@mit.edu
Ring-opening metathesis polymerization, block copolymers, and semiconductor clusters

Go to Top