Faculty

Faculty directly active in the academic administration of the program:

Professor Alfredo Alexander-Katz | Lab Website
PPSM Program Director
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-2238, aalexand@mit.edu
Polymer physics, drug-delivery, self-assembly, adhesion, driven systems

Professor Daniel Blankschtein | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4594, dblank@mit.edu
Statistical mechanics, thermodynamics and physical chemistry of complex fluids and micellar solutions

Professor Patrick S. Doyle | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4534, pdoyle@mit.edu
Microrheology, Biophysics, Microfluidics Separations, Polymer Physics, Transport Phenomena

Professor Ariel L. Furst  | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4677, afurst@mit.edu
Bioelectrochemistry, Clinical diagnostics, Biotechnology, Surface chemistry, and Self-assembly

Professor Rafael Gomez-Bombarelli | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
(617) 253-5632, rafagb@mit.edu
Computational materials science, atomistic simulations, machine learning

Professor Aristide Gumyusenge | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
EMAIL: aristide@mit.edu
Electronic Materials, Polymers, Semiconductors, Surfaces, Interfaces, and Thin Films

Professor Paula T. Hammond | Video Profile | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 258-7577, hammond@mit.edu
Macromolecular Design and Synthesis, Functionalized Polymers, Optical Properties of Polymers, Liquid Crystalline Polymeric Materials

Professor Darrell J. Irvine | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-4174, djirvine@mit.edu
Biomaterials surfaces, Tissue engineering/complex materials, Polymer-biopolymer nanosystems, Bioengineering of the immune system

Professor Jeremiah A. Johnson Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-1819, jaj2109@mit.edu
Drug-delivery, Hydrogels, Biopolymers, Nanoparticles, Semiconducting polymers, Organometallic polymers, Photoactive polymers

Professor Robert J. Macfarlane | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3300, rmacfarl@mit.edu
Biomaterials, Composites, Electronic, Photonic, and Magnetic Materials,
Materials Chemistry, Mechanical Behavior of Materials, Nanotechnology,
Polymers, Self Assembly

Professor Gareth McKinley | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 258-0754, gareth@mit.edu
Non-Newtonian fluid dynamics, polymer processing, viscoelasticity, flow stability, extensional rheology & filament stretching

Professor Bradley D. Olsen | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 715-4548, bdolsen@mit.edu
Block copolymers, Soft condensed matter physics, Protein-based materials, Bioelectronics

Professor Christine Ortiz | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
(617) 452-3084, cortiz@mit.edu
Macromolecular systems, nanomechanics, structure-property relationships, biomimetic materials design

Professor Qin (Maggie) Qi | Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-0096, qmqi@mit.edu
Complex fluids, transport phenomena, biomechanics, microfluidics, microphysiological systems,
biomedical engineering

Professor Ritu RamanLab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-2201, ritur@mit.edu
Soft materials, biomaterials, biological actuators, tissue engineering

Professor Katharina Ribbeck Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 715-4575, ribbeck@mit.edu
Physiological transport, mucus barriers, biofilms, pathogen/host interactions

Professor Caroline A. Ross Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
(617) 258-0223, caross@mit.edu
Magnetic thin films, devices, self-assembly

Professor Gregory C. Rutledge Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-0171, rutledge@mit.edu
Polymer Physics, Thermodynamics of bulk polymers molecular modeling

Professor Hadley D. Sikes Lab Website  
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-5224, sikes@mit.edu
Functional polymeric materials, Macromolecular design, Clinical diagnostics

Professor Zachary P. Smith | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 715-4503, zpsmith@mit.edu
Membrane separations, polymer physics, polymer chemistry, porous materials, and nanotechnology

Professor Timothy M. Swager | Lab Website
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-4423, tswager@mit.edu
Synthesis and characterization of electronically and optically active polymers and polymer sensory materials

Professor Thomas J. Wallin
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
(617) 253-2603, tjwallin@mit.edu
Health and medicine, manufacturing, soft matter, synthesis and processing, device fabrication

Professor Ioannis Yannas
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING/DMSE
(617) 253-4469, yannas@mit.edu
Biodegradable polymeric templates for organ regeneration; design and clinical testing of artificial skin

Professor Xuanhe Zhao Lab Website 
DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING/CEE
(617) 324-6367, zhaox@mit.edu
Soft materials, solid mechanics, bioinspired design, electroactive polymers, surface instabilities, tough hydrogels

 

PPSM EMERITUS FACULTY

Professor Robert E. Cohen
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING

Professor Karen K. Gleason 
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING

Professor Michael F. Rubner 
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING

 

PPSM FACULTY AFFILIATES

Professor Robert C. Armstrong
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-4581, rca@mit.edu
Polymers fluid mechanics, rheology, polymer processing, kinetic theory and rheology, applied mathematics

Professor Robert S. Langer
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
(617) 253-3107, rlanger@mit.edu
Polymeric, controlled drug delivery systems

Professor Keith A. Nelson
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY
(617) 253-1423, kanelson@mit.edu
Femtosecond-millisecond time resolved spectroscopy of polymers and other viscoelastic media 

 

PPSM EMERITUS AFFILIATE FACULTY

Professor George B. Benedek
DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

Professor David K. Roylance
DEPARTMENT OF MATERIALS SCIENCE & ENGINEERING

Professor Richard R. Schrock
DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

 

Accessibility

MIT-logo-gray-lightgray-54x28
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Cambridge, MA 02139-4307

Save

Go to Top